The Commotes of Llyn

The Llyn Peninsula in olden times had three commote’s made up of Townships and Manors, the following table shows how the land was divided by the Brythoniaid, ( Britons) according to the ancient law of Hywel Dda ( Howel The Good) which were formed in 914 AD.

4acres = 1 smallholding ( Tyddyn).

4 smallholdings = 1 region( Rhandir)

4 regions = 1 tenure ( 1 gafel)

4tenures = 1manor (maenor)

12 manors + 2 townships = 1 commote (cwmwd)

2 commotes = 1 hundred division of land. ( cantref.

The three commote’s or cwmwd were Cymmytmaen, or Cwmwd Maen Melyn, the yellow stone of Llyn which is situated on the westerly point of  the Peninsula near St  Mary’s well.

The commote of Dinllyn, Din meaning Dinas or township hence Porthdinllaen.

The commote of Gaflogion, Gaflogion/ Geifl, being the plural of Gafl, Gafl meaning fork. The furthest point of Gaflogion is in the north i.e. The Rivals, Yr Eifl which derives from Geifl.

The interior boundary of the commote’s met on land at Cwmmwd Farm, in the parish of Llaniestyn. Up to 160 or so years ago three boulders, one for each commote were situated on this land, and according to ancient folklore, the lords of the manors would hold council in the court of Cwmmawd. The old name of Cwmmwd Farm is Llys Cwmwd, llys being welsh for court.


Thanks Mr G Jones for this article.

Diolch yn fawr Gwilym.


Map or Safle                Website Map

Copyright ©